fashion takes a backseat, nano here we go!

I’ve previously mentioned that I will be participated in this years NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). It starts today, which is, well, incredibly soon. Simply put, the challenge is to write a novel of at least 50,000 words in a month. Cool. I’ve done it twice, won it once, and I really like my plot this year.

However, I very rarely ever talk about it to others. While many people love the social experience of NaNo, competing against others and talking about their progress, I don’t do that. My student worker is also participating and I’ve not even mentioned it to her. To me, it’s more a solitary activity. My friends are busy enough in their own lives that if I need some empathy about the frenetic pace of my November, I have plenty of company.

So why am I even writing about it here? Consider this post my apology being scarce in November. Of course, I have a vacation planned and Thanksgiving too, so this month will be busy to begin with. But I have no doubt that each time I open up WordPress to start a new post, my pain-in-the-ass conscience will be saying “shouldn’t you be working on your novel?” And it will be right. I have a few drafts and content all ready to go, so this joint won’t be vacant for a month, just a little less crowded. And I’m sure I’ll be more worried about my day’s wordcount than my clothes anyway, so chances are I’m going to be borderline Frumpgria for a short while.

Except in Texas, of course, I’ve got to make a good impression there. If I’m going to be trying on cowboy boots, I want a nice outfit to test them with. And stay tuned for a post about my Halloween costume, but beyond that, who knows?!

Happy November, folks!

2 thoughts on “fashion takes a backseat, nano here we go!

  1. I used to work at B&N, where eeeeeeeveryone except me did NaNoWriMo. I had no idea it was a competition! And that you could win it! And that you did! Pretty rad.

    I had the idea to write a book the other day. While describing it to my boyfriend, I said it’d be “the kind of thing you keep in your bathroom”. He wasn’t too supportive after that.

  2. I had the idea to write a book the other day. While describing it to my boyfriend, I said it’d be “the kind of thing you keep in your bathroom”. He wasn’t too supportive after that.
    +1

Leave a Comment

