fashion night meets sports night

If you asked me a year ago if I was bummed I would be missing Fashion Night Out due to grad school, I’d be like “Huh? What’s that?” I would have assumed the acronym FNO stood for something else completely. Friday Night Ogling?  First National Octopus? Either way, I would have been more concerned about the start of the NFL season than anything else.

That’s still the case. As I sat in class on Thursday I thought less of the new lines debuting across stores nationwide, and more about how I was missing Aaron Rodger’s first passes of the season. But I did find my mind drifting occasionally to visions of shopping through Missoni at Target, and wondering if there would be any good pieces left in the Lagerfield at Macy’s line when it went on clearance (because I know I wouldn’t be able to afford it before that!)

The new clothes I was most excited about, that debuted whilst I was supposed to be learning about Administrative Services in Higher Education, was the collaboration between the Knicks’ Amar’e Stoudamire and Rachel Roy. Despite the fact that I’d scheduled myself in for a pilates session with my trainer once I got home from school (which is really just me breaking out my yoga mat and following a workout on Netflix), I instead found myself checking out the final incarnations of the line.

I was a little disappointed.

I’ve mentioned before my struggle to reconcile sports and fashion. And personally, I feel like athletes designing clothing is kind of like country music stars designing perfume: you know there is a ghost-writer (ghost-designer?) at work. But Stoudamire is a pretty dapper guy in his own right, and he’s already been interviewed in Vogue, so he’s at least got a grasp on this whole fashion thing. Despite this, and the fact that he was working with an established designer in Rachel Roy, I was still a little skeptical until I saw the pieces myself.

I found myself liking the non-athletic pieces much better than the ones with the sports logos and “New York” splayed across the back. One piece in particular that I really liked was the denim motorcycle jacket. But most of the rest of the collection left something to be desired. Stoudamire described the line as fashion to wear “courtside”, and I suppose he pulls that off, but the tops still look like something that a real sports fan wouldn’t go near with a ten foot pole. It’s possible I just have such a big chip on my shoulder about this that I refuse to accept these halfway marriages between sports and fashion. To me, these just look like the same sorts of clothes in the Alyssa Milano collection, designed for women that go to the game to be seen, not to watch the events unfolding on the court/rink/field.

This “sweater” in particular just kills me. It looks like something you might get on the boardwalk, where the guy spray paints the sweatshirt right in front of you. It doesn’t look like upscale fashion, and it doesn’t look like something I’d splurge and spend $90 on.  I do quite enjoy the rest of items in the RACHEL Rachel Roy fall look book, but to me, the Stoudamire line falls flat.

Sidenote: As with most things in life, your mind may differ.

Leave a Comment

