cingria style, defined

I’ve spent a decent amount of time ruminating in the last few weeks about what exactly my personal style is.  Well, not exactly, but at least something I can vocalize if I’m ever asked.  No, I’ve never actually been asked, but what if I get stopped in the street tomorrow by Time Out New York or something, and they ask me?  Girl needs to be prepared!

It’s easy enough to say which stores most align with my style: LOFT, Banana Republic, etc…but what does that mean?  It means I like neutral colors, I guess.  And that I don’t want to be super cheap, but I’m not exactly luxe either.  I think I’ve come up with it though, one word that can describe my style: basic.

Boring, right?  That’s what I thought at first too, which was why I was hesitant to fess up to it.  But I think that after some explanation, basic becomes less blah and more “oh, ok, I can deal with that”.  I’m basic because I like simple lines, and a clean silhouette.  I’m basic because I like solid colors and inoffensive prints, because they are so easy to mix and match.  I’m basic because I like practical clothes, ones that I can transition easily from my workplace to happy hour to sitting in night class for two hours.

I think that’s my personal style: clean lines, solid colors, practicality.  I’m not trying to be hipster like everyone and their mother on lookbook (let’s face it, I can’t pull off a fedora like they can).  I’m not trying to dress like I just walked out of my apartment on Park Avenue either.  I guess if I had to say I am trying to dress like something, it’s just a page out of the Banana Republic catalog (with a bit more figure than the rail-thin models).

I wore this outfit a few days ago, and I think it sums me up pretty well: simple but with a little bit of fun mixed in there.  The shirt is neutral, with a fun neckline.  The skirt has a straight-forward cut, but has a subtle pattern to spice things up.  And the belt and shoes are pretty ordinary accessories.  It may look plain to some, but for me, it’s the perfect outfit!

My goal for this “school year” (I love that I can still refer to the school year as an easy benchmark) is to start wearing all of my clothes, and wearing them interchangeably, before I wear the same shirt over and over again.  I tend to fall back on my plain black top or black pants, but I think I can experiment with color and pattern a bit more.  Still simple, but learning to better utilize the clothes I have!  I hope that’s equally as SMART as my fall essentials goal…fingers crossed!

Personal challenge time: How long can I go without wearing the same shirt twice?  I’ll keep y’all posted.

Leave a Comment

