essentials, the fall/winter edition

It’s impossible to avoid back-to-school clothing commercials.  I don’t even have cable and don’t watch a ton of television, but when I do, there they are.  Again, and again, and again.  And while part of me wishes I could still enter my name for a chance to win a $100 JC Penney back-to-school juniors department gift card, I’m not that delusional.

Just because I can’t romp around in kids size K-Mart jeans doesn’t mean I’m not excited for back-to-school shopping!  I’m still a student, albeit part-time, and will take any excuse for looking for new clothes. I know I previously put a list together of items I wanted for my wardrobe, but that wasn’t season-specific.  A lot of (good) fall items transition really well into winter, so I’m looking for a few things like that with which to enhance my closet.  In the sweater category, I think I’m covered (in that I have almost every basic color under the sun in multiple weights), but that doesn’t mean I don’t need other things!

Without further ado, my to-buy list for fall/winter.  Subject to change at any time, of course, because I’m fickle.

1) A neutral sweater-dress. I have a black’n’white checkered one, which looks nice with black tights, but I want something a little more versatile.  One that can go with different colored tights or leggings, at the very least!  And the one I already own is sleeveless, which means that my body stays cozy and warm but my arms aren’t as lucky.  So a bit of sleeve action would be a plus.

2) Something, anything, from ModCloth…does that count as an “essential”?  I’ve been stalking their website quite often recently, but always chicken out when I go to hit “checkout” with items in my cart.  Almost all of their clothing is perfect and I must have something from them (like this “curry” skirt that I linked to above).  Preferably sooner rather than later.

3) A black’n’white striped top.  Doesn’t have to be a sweater (actually, I’d prefer if it was something lighter).  I haven’t been to H&M in awhile, I think a trip there to pick up this top needs to happen.  That can match basically anything, right?  Pencil skirts, high waisted dress pants, I think I can get away with that.

There, that isn’t such a long list.  I followed the SMART way of goal-setting (you know, specific, measurable, attainable, etc.).  Three specific items won’t break my budget, but will also give me something to strive for!

Am I missing any other crucial fall items?  I didn’t include footwear on the list because I have a fair amount of boots and dress shoes.  And while I always love checking out accessories, I can’t think of any jewelry or handbags that really scream must-have for fall.  But, I’m a newbie at this, so I might need some help being pointed in the right direction!

Leave a Comment

