hipster patriotism

There is a severe lack of red, white and blue clothing today.

That’s because it’s not hipster.

That was an exchange between me and my beau (respectively) while we were walking to the grocery store.  We live in an area that’s divided between parents with strollers, and hipsters.  In the grid of what’s acceptable to wear as a hipster, patriotic clothing isn’t quite mainstream enough to be banned from their wardrobe, but it just simply isn’t ironic enough.  Wearing red/white/blue on July 4th is quite literal (or whatever the antonym to ironic is) indeed.  Also, if the outfit looks too nautical, they’re afraid of bleeding into the “preppy” category.  It’s a fine line!

But that got me thinking…there must be some hipster clothing that is socially acceptable, yet patriotic at the same time, in a sort of ironic way.  Or at least, in a “it was a coincidence I wore this today, I’m too cool to dress like a flag” manner.

Sidenote: This post is purely partially in jest.  I have a lot of friends that border on hipster, I don’t mean to make fun.  I’m just providing clothing options as a burgeoning fashionista.

Sidenote 2: I have exactly two shirts I wear on patriotic holidays.  One is blue/white striped, and one is red.  I’m wearing the blue one today.

The extent of my patriotic wear.

Sidenote 3: Last week my roommate asked me for fashion advice about an outfit she was wearing.  She said it was because I was the fashionable one in our house, but I don’t doubt for a second that if anyone else was home she would have sought out a second opinion.  That’s okay, Cingria 2.0 doesn’t think like that, she’s hears “you’re the fashionable one” and the sentence ends there!

Anyway, onward with the hipster patriotism fashion show.  I think any of these articles of clothing would be a good mix of irony, fashion, and good old Americana (as I’m typing this I realize that traditional Americana is probably much less mainstream than Old Navy Flag t-shirts or just wearing red/white/blue).

First, I’m not going to link to the million tye-dyed shirts there are on Etsy.  Throw on a tye-dyed shirt with high-waisted jean shorts and you’re set.  That’s it.

So, the things I am going to link to:

These shorts are on Etsy (click the shorts for the link). High waisted and acid washed.  Dude!  Grab these shorts, and a patriotic tie to wrap around your head, and you’re golden.   Etsy is honestly overwhelming with hipster patriotism, just go there and look.

If you’re looking to go vintage (and what hipster doesn’t love a good vintage piece), than look no further than ModCloth.  That particular top is sold out, but there are a bunch others.  It’s the perfect cherry red of the American flag, look at you go!  ModCloth also has a great scarf that I’m eyeing…it’s also sold out, but maybe they’ll restock.  As a matter of fact, my great-grandmother had a scarf like it, maybe it’s still in the family.  Because going legit vintage and borrowing clothes from your elders is way cooler.

Well wouldja look at that, American Apparel has a whole patriotic section.  This dress is a) called a frock, and b) has a surly looking model wearing it.  A+.

Lastly, Urban Outfitters has a whole page for men (they have a women’s one too).

Moral of this story?  Hipsters, get the heck out there and wear some red, white and blue.  At this point, being patriotic isn’t all that mainstream anyway.

Leave a Comment

