homage to the online sale

When I was younger, my mom was very much against online shopping.  The stories of identity theft resulted in an absolute aversion to using a credit card to pay for any web purchases.  When I would buy things off eBay, I would need to pick up a money order and send it, delaying the receipt of my new favorite thing by at least a few days.

So when I got my own debit card, I was happy as a clam.  I don’t go crazy with shopping online, but I definitely find myself doing it more often as I get busier.  As I’ve said, I’m not one to try things on before I buy them, so buying clothes sight unseen isn’t all that out of the ordinary.  Especially shoes.  I’m a pretty standard 8.5, and I’ve rarely had an issue where shoes I buy are too big or too small after I receive the shipment.

I get a lot of emails with sales.  I’m a member of Gilt Groupe, Rue La La, and HauteLook, so that’s at least three mails a day with crazy delightful discounts.  I get Shop It To Me email alerts twice a week.  Most of the time I just have to move them out of my inbox without looking, or I’ll be tempted to spend money that I haven’t budgeted.  I think that these emails are less a reflection of me as a big-time shopper, and more of a discount maven.  Buying things regular price irks me.  Macy’s has a sale approximately every day, why would I buy a dress there full price when I can get it on sale in the next week?

My trip to White House Black Market (.com) last week wasn’t based off of any emails or sales I’d heard about, I just figured I’d stop by since I hadn’t in awhile.  Yes, I stop by websites like people window shop at physical store locations.  I like online window shopping.

My original intention was just to browse, but I found these sandals for a great price.  I definitely need some nice summer sandals that I can wear to work, but also keep on whilst dining al fresco during the warm summer months.  My go-to sandals that I’d had for a few years aren’t in good enough condition to make it through a whole season, so I needed to replace them.  White House Black Market shoes for less than $30?  Those fit the bills, thanks.

Unfortunately they were delivered to my office on Saturday (though the projected delivery date wasn’t until today), so I have to go pick them up at the post office.  I guess that not every online shopping purchase goes 100% smoothly, but having to walk one block to pick up some sandals is still lazier than walking all the way to the shoe store to browse and buy.  And if any words can be used to describe me as a shopper, it’s lazy(ish).

One thought on “homage to the online sale

Leave a Comment

