book clubs and new clothes

I’ve been a bad blogger, and just to make things worse, WordPress put together a nice little chart of my stats from 2011…at which point I realized I hadn’t updated since December 14th. Oops. Between pre-holiday prep and then actually enjoying myself away from the computer (and away from my closet), I didn’t have all that much to write about.

However, 2012 is a new year!  My 2012 blogging resolution is to become more engaged in various communities.  I sometimes take the time to post comments on other fashion and style blogs, and I like to think that my comments are interesting enough that they don’t come across as “oh, she’s just commenting to provide a link back to her own site”, but there is certainly room for improvement.  To start, I wanted to actually take part in “1book140″, rather than just reading the books.  I figured a good way to get involved was to share the love with everyone else!

1book140 is a book club run through Twitter.  Originated by Jeff Howe over at Atlantic Monthly, the premise is simple: He puts together a short-list of nominations, you vote, one book wins.  A reading schedule goes up at the beginning of the month and through various hashtags ranging from general to specific, you converse about the book chosen with fellow twitterers.  For those of you that like the idea of a book club but are afraid that if you started one with your friends it would turn into a monthly booze session, 1book140 is perfect.  Plus, you get to talk with people all over the damn place and read a book at the same time as a jillion others.

For more information about 1book140, Howe’s FAQ post is really helpful.  Since I don’t have school again until later in the month, I’m giving it another go this time around.  The best part is that Amazon is having a sale on the e-version of this month’s book, Longitude, will be on sale for $1.99 today (it’s usually a whopping $2.99).  It’s nonfiction, and is about the original crowd-source in trying to figure out a way to determine a ship’s longitude.  I love non-fiction novels, you may not, but it’s gotten great reviews.

Anyway, that’s my spiel for the day. While I don’t have any outfit posts ready from the holidays (although they’ll probably be up some point soon!), I did want to show off the fabulous clothes I got for Christmas.  I’m lucky that my family knows me well enough to get me clothes I’ll actually like! It was a very Tommy Hilfiger Christmas, which was exciting.  I got these two beauties, but with the weather getting chilly I’m feeling like climbing into nothing more than a sweater and pants when I get up in the morning, ugh.

 

I think one of my favorite things is the coat below.  Now I just wish it would get a little bit warmer so I can wear it!  I got a great scarf and mittens set that will match it really nicely, if I ever get to wear it when it’s cool enough that a hat and mittens are acceptable.  I have gotten to the point where I do most of my shopping at LOFT and Banana Republic, but I forget that Macy’s has such great stuff too.

4 thoughts on “book clubs and new clothes

  1. I followed the book club on twitter and bought the book. I may not be able to participate too much this month because I’m caught up in another book right now, but my goal is to read it by the end of January and participate in February. Thanks for linking it!

    • No prob, glad you’re interested! I started the book yesterday and Kindle informed me that I’m 33% done already, it’s a pretty quick read and not at all technical (although I know you wouldn’t have a problem with engineer-y things).

Leave a Comment

